Volcanoes to debut six new members for Hong Kong

Globe Philippine Volcanoes pose for a team photo at their Training Camp in Calamba

The Globe Philippine Volcanoes have named six new faces to represent the Philippines for Round 1 of the Asia Sevens Series in Hong Kong. The Volcanoes travel to the first round with a young team, hoping to secure a strong start to the series

“Our coaching staff have recruited and identified some new talent for 2018. It’s exciting to see the depth of the program, these members will be bringing some new skills, I am sure they will provide that extra spark the Philippines needs,” shared Jake Letts of Philippine Rugby 

​Coach Frano Botica adds to the team’s arsenal Donald Canon Colman, an experienced Filipino backrower from North Shore Rugby Club in New Zealand. Colman’s mother hails from Tarlac. Another exciting prospect is Mark Mapacpac Roberts, whose family is from Marinduque, will be utilized as a utility back for the Volcanoes. Robert Luceno Fogerty returns after making his impressive debut for the 15s program in June. Tim Alonso Berry gets the nod after an impressive training camp performance. Brothers Jerome and Ellis Padillo Rudder are also added to the team both playing high level Rugby in the United Kingdom. Overall the new talent ensures a new show for the Volcanoes. 

The Volcanoes will be led by experienced campaigners Christopher Arpon Bird who has been named Captain, and Harrison Carceller Blake as Vice Captain. Returning for national duties will be Vincent Amar Young, Timothy Bweheni, Joe Palabay Dawson and speedster Ryan Reyes Howes. ​

The Globe Volcanoes will face Korea at 2.42pm tomorrow afternoon and Malaysia at 6:00pm. Followed by Hong Kong on Saturday at 12:12pm. The finals to be seeded after the pool round matches. The games will be played at Hong Kong Football Club, matches to be streamed live on Facebook via Philippine Rugby

2018 Asia Sevens Series Team - Hong Kong 

1. Harrison Carcellor Blake (VC) 
2. Vincent Amar Young 
3. *Ellis Padillo Rudder 
4. *Mark Macpacpac Roberts
5. Timothy Bweheni 
6. *Jerome Padillo Rudder 
7. *Tim Alonso Berry 
8. *Donald Canon Colman 
9. Christopher Arpon Bird (C) 
10. Joe Palabay Dawson 
11. *Robert Luceno Fogerty 
12. Ryan Reyes Howe

*Denotes debutant

Coaching and Management Staff:

Frano Botica 
David Johnston 
Chris Everingham
Stephanie Yee

Article From: Philippinerugby.com


Please wait while the page is loading . . .